Eufy E340 Video Doorbell Hard Wired Issues

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie so please forgive me if I post this in the wrong place.

I recently purchased a Eufy E340 Video Doorbell because it stated it can be hard wired and you will then also get pre-roll recorded clips which sounded great but sadly I’ve not managed to achieve this yet.

I read the specs page for this doorbell and it says an 8-24VAC, 10VA transformer is needed to power the device which I already had from my Nest Hello doorbell so I thought great I can just wire it up using the already installed set up. I did this and was using the doorbell on WiFi and that night I got a few notifications saying the doorbell was fully charged and then later I got the green plug icon so I thought woohoo it is now showing as hard wired and I will now have the pre-roll but then the following day my battery was showing 92% so something was wrong.

I monitored it for a few days and never got the full battery notification or green plug again. Since then I went out and purchased all new wiring and another new transformer that is 24VAC 10VA so in theory more than enough to power it but sadly not. I removed the battery and charged it fully and put it back in then that night got a couple of fully charged notifications followed by battery drain again.

It seems this doorbell either needs a much higher speed transformer or it isn’t possible to power it hard wired?

Please help fix this as I really want to use my E340 hard wired and have this pre-roll function as the doorbell is great and will be fantastic once able to run hard wired. I am located in the UK also so if this makes a difference to what is needed?

Thanks all :slight_smile:

2 Likes